On the same tack; Proper course
If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear.
Rule 17 illustrated
File:Rule17 upwind.png
File:Rule17 canceled by rule13.png
images wanted

Why do I see 17.1 in game? Edit

In ISAF RRS (2005-2008) there were two rules: 17.1 and 17.2
The new rule 17 is substantially the same as the old 17.1 and the old 17.2 has been eliminated.
Since the design of the VSK5 (and 32AC) auto-umpire pre-dates RRS (2009-2012) rule 17.1 is indicated in game.

Many skippers report that the VSK auto-umpire can make a bad rule 17.1 penalty call and so even in certain NPC races you may see an exception allowed for just rule 17.1. This is up to the host and any sailing instructions he/she advertises. Remember it's just a game. Better to spin and fin than to fit and quit!

  • The auto-umpire will use the layline to the center point of a gate or finish line as the proper course whereas a race official in real life would consider the layline to either left-hand or right-hand marks of a gate or finish line.
  • The auto-umpire will trigger fairly soon after a pair of boats passes the layline whereas a race official in real life might take into consideration such mitigating factors as:
    1. tidal stream
    2. anticipated wind shifts
    3. obstructions
    4. a boat's maneuvering to get clear of the fleet
    5. the layline to a mark ending the next leg of the race